top of page

Death Waits in the Dark

Mark Edward Langley

September 16, 2020

While Arthur Nakai is attending a wake for a man he considered a brother with whom he served in the U.S. Marines, he receives a call from an old friend whose sons have just been murdered.

Arthur soon finds himself involved in the multi-billion-dollar world of the oil and gas industry. He faces an old adversary from when he was a member of the Shadow Wolves, an elite tactical unit within US Customs and Border Protection.

Now that same adversary runs a heavily armed group of sociopathic men who are paid to keep the oil rigs and gas wells secure from protesters. Can’t let anything stop big business from getting access to all that reservation land – so what if fracking poisons Native Americans’ water supply and further fractures their community?

Death Waits in the Dark (Blackstone Publishing) is Book 2 in The Arthur Nakai Mysteries.

Mark Edward Langley was instilled with a love for the American West by his father. After many visits, his connection to the land and its people became irrevocable, but he was appalled at the way he saw Native Americans being treated. After spending almost thirty years working in the corporate world, he retired at the end of 2016 and began to focus on realizing his goal of becoming an author. He created a strong, competent Navajo protagonist, a U.S. veteran who fights for his people and their land. Langley’s first novel, Path of the Dead, was released in August of 2018. He and his wife, Barbara, live in Indiana and split their time between there and the American southwest where he loves to ride horses. He is currently working on the next novel in the Arthur Nakai series.

bottom of page